VINTAGE MODEL POWER BOAT CLUB
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sea Queen restoration - Advice sought

2 posters

Go down

Sea Queen restoration - Advice sought Empty Sea Queen restoration - Advice sought

Post  martini Sun Aug 24, 2014 9:48 pm

Hi, I am relatively new to model boats. I restored a Sea Queen a few years back,although it was in pretty good condition already. I now have a second Sea Queen which was in a much worse state. Wood worm in the transom, rot in the bow a few broken bits here and there. I've got most of this sorted out and in this case I've stripped all the paint off.

If interested I can post photos.

I had heard using something like Z-pozy finishing resin could be used to strengthen the hull. Do I need to use fibre glass tissue as well?.

Also do I need to reseal the hull after removing the paint before I apply the Z-pozy

Strangely for all the problems this boat has I don't think it had been used before as it previously had not had a hole made for the rudder shaft.

I wondered what advice there might be for running gear?

I've tried to fit a standard motor (pretty large) and had thought of using a 12v 7a SLA - which I had put in the earlier boat.

Problem with this later boat is that the angle made through the hull for the prop shaft is very shallow so the motor sits very low in the boat - ie almost impossible. I've tried using the longest Raboesch shaft I could find (17") - which is still too low and if I get a longer one it will push the motor way up the front of the boat. Can take pics to demonstrate if needed.

I wondered if using a brushless setup might mean that the motor would be a little smaller in diameter and thus easier to accommodate.

I've absolutely no experience of using brushless motors and batteries and wondered what might be recommended here.

All advice greatfully received

martini

Back to top Go down